Who Is In The Running To Host The 2030 World Cup?

Published on 10/06/2022

Hosting the biggest sporting tournament in the world is certainly an honor that many wish for their nation. Not only does it bring tourism, notoriety and excitement to the country, it gives the opportunity to show the beautiful nature of the people who live there, the culture and so much more. Additionally, the host nation receives automatic qualification for the tournament, which is certainly a bonus. Take South Africa in 2010 or Qatar 2022; there are no guarantees that these nations would have qualified otherwise.

As of this moment, it appears that there are three concrete bids to host the 2030 World Cup. So who are the bids?

Russia World Cup 2018

Russia World Cup 2018


Ukraine, Spain and Portugal

In a decision approved by the nation’s president, Volodymyr Zelenskiy, Ukraine will join Spain and Portugal in their bid to co-host the 2030 World Cup.

An afternoon news conference on Wednesday is planned to announce the cooperation. If the offer is accepted, it is believed that Ukraine, which has been fully occupied by Russia since February 24th, will host one of the tournament’s groups. Two years ago, it was confirmed by Spain and Portugal that they would submit a combined bid to host in 2030, and the inclusion of Ukraine would give it a fresh twist.

Even though the national team of Ukraine plays its home games in Poland and the domestic league, which successfully resumed play in August, is held behind closed doors, there is optimism that any security worries will be significantly less prominent in eight years. With Poland, Ukraine co-hosted the 2012 Euros, demonstrating its ability to host big events even during times of peace.

Competition for the UEFA-backed bid will come from groups like Egypt, Greece, and Saudi Arabia as well as a South American offer from Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, and Chile. Aleksander Ceferin, the president of UEFA, stated last month that he thought Spain and Portugal will put together a “winning offer.”

According to a story from The Times published on Tuesday, Ukraine will host one World Cup group throughout the competition.

Uruguay, Argentina, Chile and Paraguay

The four-country proposal by Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay to bring the World Cup back to South America was revealed in August of this year.

All of the nations, with the exception of Paraguay, have previously hosted the World Cup, but not since the 1970s. The 2014 World Cup in Brazil was the most recent World Cup to be hosted in the continent.

Uruguay could not, however, host the entire World Cup like it did in 1930. The only notable city is Montevideo, so a 48-team tournament would be far too many for it to handle. It is a joint bid with the four countries for that purpose.

Important matches will be played between Uruguay, Chile, and Paraguay, but Argentina will very definitely host the majority of the action. The argument for the worth of the past is persuasive. It will have to be because there isn’t much else the concept has going for it. It will be very interesting to see how the FIFA Congress votes in November 2024.

Greece, Saudi Arabia and Egypt

According to The Times of London, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and Greece are getting ready to submit a combined bid to host the 2030 World Cup. According to a British publication, conversations at the highest levels of government have led to an announcement that is soon to be made. If the bid is accepted, the competition would have to be held in the winter to avoid the sweltering temperatures of June and July, similar to how the World Cup was held in Qatar this year.

According to The Times, Saudi Arabia would be the main partner and finance the infrastructure needs of the other two nations outright or at the very least contribute to them. Saudi Arabia has launched a significant campaign to lure sporting events to the oil-rich Gulf nation since 2017.

Other Bids?

Morocco will submit a proposal for the 2030 World Cup, including a potential joint candidacy with neighboring African countries Tunisia and Algeria. This was revealed in 2018. In 1994, 1998, 2006, and 2010, Morocco’s bids to host the World Cup were unsuccessful.

With Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates as potential partners, Israel is planning another inter-confederation bid. Over the past 60 years, the Asia Cup has been held in Israel and the United Arab Emirates.